Twyford Lime Kilns
The only surviving Lime Kilns and associated water softening plant in Hampshire.
You are visitor 21103

Open Day Details
Home Page | Latest News | The Kilns - Virtual Tour | The Kilns - History | The Railway - Virtual Tour | The Railway - History | Lime Production Process | Twyford Narrow Gauge Industrial Railway | Guest Book | Links | Opening Details
Welcome The Lime Kilns at Twyford, some of the best preserved examples in the south of England. Currently in preservation, the lime kilns are open to visitors. For more information see the links page or click on "Open Day Details" above.
 
TWT

Tywford Lime Kilns is part of the Twyford Waterworks, run by Twyford Waterworks Trust. For more information, see thier website.

What is there to see?
    • Five of the best preserved Lime Kilns in the south of England
    • Learn about how lime was made and how it softened the drinking water
    • Two unique hydraulic engines in working order and operational
    • The machines that mixed the lime before softening
    • Onsite 2" narrow-gauge gauge railway including unique working wagon incline
    • Collection of local bricks
    • Fantastic views of the local countryside
Latest Website Updates
  • 29th October 2004 - Many updates added including Locomotives arrive at Kilns - Latest pictures!
  • 20th July 2004 - Preservation & Restoriation Page updated.
  • 13th July 2004 - Picture added on news page of reinstated incline.

 

Twyford Pumping Station

Twyford waterworks was constructed in the 1890s by the South Hants Water Co., to augment the supply of water available from the company's earlier works at Timsbury in the Test Valley. The Company's Consulting Engineer, Mr. Baldwin Latham selected the site, the first two wells being sunk in 1898 and 1899. The station was brought into service in 1900 and the supply proved to be reliable, of good quality and greater in quantity than had been anticipated. Initially the supply was not softened but in 1903 lime softening was introduced utilising chalk quarried and processed on site.

The station was authorised to extract up to 2.5 million gallons per day {m.g.d.}. But in the early days, as its function was to supplement the output from Timsbury, the pumps were run for only part of the day and by 1908 the average pumped was still less than 0.5 m.g.d. compared with 1.3 m.g.d. from Timsbury.

It was, however, recognised that demand was growing and in 1905 the pumping station building was extended to house the first triple expansion steam engine. The success of this development led to the reconstruction of the building in  1912 to accommodate the second triple expansion steam engine and by 1918 demand had reached the permitted 2.5 m.g.d.  During the 1914-18 war the South Hants Water Co and Southampton Corporation Waterworks agreed to connect their mains networks so that they could assist one another in the case of need. The association became stronger with time and in 1921 Southampton Corporation absorbed the company.
Click here to email us


Site updated: 29th October 2004